Date Night YYC

A great WordPress.com site

Toastmasters Date December 29, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Judy Arnall, BA, DTM, CCFE @ 10:14 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

DSC01067blogWhen we first began date night, we were heading out the door every Tuesday night to Toastmasters. I would never have joined Toastmasters on my own, but one day, my partner came home and told me he was going to join for work. There was no way I was going to stay at home with the kids alone another night of the week, so I told him I was coming too! We booked a sitter to come every Tuesday evening from 7-10 pm. I was deathly afraid of public speaking. I was the kid who dropped university courses if they had a presentation component. However, I was surprised that Toastmasters was not only about speech-making, but also evaluations (handy skill to use on partner’s cleaning-up abilities), meeting procedures (useful for keeping school council meetings on track), and impromtu speaking (handy for coming up with intricate excuses on why kids have to go to bed.) As a stay-at-home mom, I loved making conversation with adults, and the opportunity to get on my soap box for 6 minutes and speak uninterrupted to a roomful of 30 adults, who would listen intently to my opinions. It was the highlight of my week. I recommend Toastmasters for stay-at-home moms and dads to continue workplace skills. For me, it later turned into a career of speaking for conferences.

If you are looking to meet an interesting someone, Toastmasters is a great club to join. Many young professionals join for work requirements and it has a learning component, but also a fun and sociable atmosphere. Many groups meet outside the club to do activities together. Since public speaking is nerve racking on its own, a person has to pretty well have things together to take on the challenge, so you know that people there might make a good “date.”

Afterwards, we went to the pub for pizza and beer with fellow Toastie friends. We did this for many years and eventually Tuesday became our Toastmaster night, and as it was becomming crowded, we moved our sacred date night to Saturday night.

 

Leave a Reply

